President’s Message

ENRS Charts Path Forward

ENRS President, Ann Marie P. Mauro, PhD, RN, CNL, CNE, FAHA, FAAN, 

as published in Nursing Research.

As we head into the fall, we face ongoing challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic and must adapt to our “new normal” in all aspects of our personal and professional lives. Moreover, our nation is at critical crossroads as we are called to address racial and social injustices, compelling us to reflect upon our past, present, and future. Through our ENRS mission to advance innovative nursing science, we have a unique opportunity to make a difference in promoting equity and health, particularly for minority and vulnerable populations.


Strategic Plan

With input from our Committee Chairs and Research Interest Group (RIG) Leaders, the Board approved its new strategic plan in August. Our goals, targets, measures, and initiatives focus on our membership, annual conference, RIGs, organizational development, awards, communications, governance, and finances. An emphasis on diversity, equity, and inclusion is threaded throughout the plan. As a result, the Board has created a new Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Accessibility (IDEA) Advisory Group led by Dr. Lisa Lewis to further integrate and cultivate these important values into our organization. An NIH funded researcher with expertise in advancing diversity and inclusion, Dr. Lewis is collaborating with the Board to bring together expert members from underrepresented minorities across our region to advise, inform, and guide our work.


Time, Talent, and Treasury

Our Organizational Development Committee led by ENRS Past President Dr. Rosanna DeMarco and supported by Treasurer and Board Liaison Dr. Donna Nickitas has launched our new Time, Talent, and Treasury (TTT) Campaign. We invite our members to give their time, talent, treasury through mentorship, partnerships, and contributions that strengthen research, recognize achievements in nursing science, and increase access for early career investigators as well as those from underrepresented or disadvantaged groups. To donate to our research awards and scholarships, go to:


We welcome all who are interested in nursing science to join our community of scholars as an ENRS member at Members at all career stages across academic, clinical and community settings are encouraged to become involved in our Research Interest Group (RIGS), which are actively engaged in research activities and networking. For more information, go to: If you are a senior scientist, please consider sharing your time and talent to mentor others through our RIGS, monthly webinars, annual conference, committees, and initiatives.


Annual Conference

We are excited about our upcoming 33rd Annual Scientific Sessions on March 25-26, 2021 with the theme Generating Nursing Science to Meet the Needs of a Diverse Society. President-Elect Dr. Jane Flanagan and the Conference Committee are busy planning an engaging and informative event. Please save the date, submit an abstract, and volunteer to be an abstract reviewer at:


Stay safe and be well.

Warmest wishes, 

Ann Marie P. Mauro, PhD, RN, CNL, CNE, FAHA, FAAN

President, Eastern Nursing Research Society

9 Entries


President's Message
Past President: Victoria Vaughan Dickson
Current President: Ann Marie Mauro

Folder Contents